Monday, November 17, 2014

2014 MASFAA Awards and Recognition

(by Christy Miller, MASFAA Awards Chair)

The 2014 MASFAA Conference in West Virginia was not only a wonderful time of learning and networking but we had the opportunity to honor many MASFAA colleagues for their service to our organization, the financial aid profession, and the students we serve. This year’s highest MASFAA award, the Allen W. Purdy Distinguished Service Award, was awarded to Keith Williams
(Michigan State University) for his outstanding achievements in the financial aid profession and to MASFAA’s goals. Keith shared, “I am so honored to even be nominated for such an award. I am sorry I was not able to attend the conference. I was certainly there in spirit with my MASFAA family.” 

Keith Williams with his Allen W. Purdy
Distinguished Service Award
Justin Chase Brown (University of Missouri), Melissa Haberman (University of Wisconsin-Madison), and Jayme Jarrett (Ohio Northern University), walked away with the Meritorious Service Award for their work on #FAchat and the MASFAA Communications and Innovations Committee.
Justin Chase Brown receives Meritorious
Service Award from Christy Miller
MASFAA acknowledged, Gena Boling (Missouri University of Science & Technology) as the Outstanding New Professional within the MASFAA region.

Gena Boling receives Outstanding New
Professional Award from Christy Miller
MASFAA President, Sara Beth Holman, presented Aaron Steffens, President-Elect, with the 2013-14 President's Award based on his significant contributions to MASFAA over the past year.

Aaron Steffens accepts the
President's Award
Sara Beth also presented the Committee of the Year Award to the Long Range Strategic Planning Task Force (Rick Shipman, Dick Battig, Buddy Mayfield, Darla Palmer, and Lori Vedder) for their tireless work on the new five-year strategic plan that will take effect with the 2014-15 Executive Council.

For the first time in MASFAA history, current student Kendyl Ryan from Marshall University was honored for her commitment to promoting college access awareness among her peers and other first-generation college students with the ACCESS Award of the Year.

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis and her alma mater, West Virginia State University, were honored with the MASFAA Student Success Story Award.

Dr. Roslyn Clark Artis and
JoAnn Ross
We also heard wonderful stories about why the State Leadership Award recipients from each of the nine MASFAA states are so deserving of recognition: Amanda Fijal (IL), Sue Allmon (IN), Heather Gaumer (IA), Lori Vedder (MI), Susan Neppl (MN), Samantha Matchefts (MO), Angela Johnson (OH), Sandra Oerly-Bennett (WV), and Karla Weber (WI).

Heather Gaumer, Iowa State Leadership Award
Lori Vedder, Michigan State Leadership Award
Angela Johnson, Ohio State Leadership Award
Sandra Oerly-Bennett, West Virginia State Leadership Award

Karla Weber, Wisconsin State Leadership Award
Felicia Carrillo was awarded the Haywood Legacy Scholarship, named in honor of Zina Haywood, past MASFAA President.

Felicia Carrillo
At the conference, we also recognized our MASFAA members for their many years of service in the financial aid profession with the Years of Service Recognition. Herald Johnson and Herbert Saunders were recognized for 45 years of service. Beatriz Contreras, Rebecca Shinaberry, Herschel Wallace, Nadine Hamrick, and Gary Spoales were each recognized for 40 years of service to the financial aid profession. Julie Dunn, John Parker, and LuGail Hamel celebrated 35 years of service. For 30 years of service, we recognized Michelle Bowman, Robert Eagle, Jean Pohlman, Cheryl Willard, Joanna Dye, Mary Nucciarone, and Michiale Schneider. The following were recognized for 25 years of service to the profession: Gale Crandell, Jayne Dinse, Christine Ditter, Tracy Drechsler, Arlene Duerksen, Todd Everett, Beverly Hickman, Mildred Jackson, Kimberly Jeffers, Karen LeVeque, John McPherson, Vicki Miller, David Neitzke, Vicki Saunders, Mary Shaw, Nancy Siddens, Debra Turner, Jana Vanderah, and James Woods. We also recognized those who celebrated 20 years in the field: Kate Barton, John Brandt, Michelle Curtis, Kim Donat, Bonnie Estrada, Deborah Faust, Ellen Frost, Laura Frye, John Herrmann, Amy Kerwin, Douglas Levy, Brett Lindquist, Joan Meyer, Connie Negron, Jeffrey Olson, Christopher Rone, Kim Siwarski, Susan Teerink, Nicole Verrett, and Concepta Williamson.

We also thank and honor those who are retiring from the financial aid profession with the Recognition of Retirement. From Illinois, we recognize the retirement of Robert Andersen, Doris Butts, Jerry Donna, Suzzanne Heberer, Deanna Kelly, Becki Lindblade, Suzanne Mostafavifar, Holly Pickowitz, Ellen Rigsby, Deb Stiefel, Suzanne Swenson, and Pamela Wagener. From Indiana, we recognize Barb Cannaday, Sharon Colwell, Corene Foust, Joanne Haymaker, Richard Hill, Barb Jerzyk, JoAnn Laugel, Judy Parent , George Posey, and Phillis Wilson. From Michigan, we recognize Patricia Chaplin, Wanda Edwards, Ann Graves, Linda Perry, Ellis Salim, Mary Stark, and Cynthia VanPelt. From Minnesota, we recognize Marla Friederichs and Gene Slettedahl. From Missouri, we recognize Sandy Pritt. From Ohio, we recognize Mary Kay Freshour and Barb Thoma. And from Wisconsin, we recognize Mary Gorud, Janice Riutta, Lynn Stewart, Sue Ulrick, Paul Watson, and
Jeff Zahn.

If you have the opportunity to see or talk to these great MASFAA folks, be sure to congratulate them and thank them for all they do for the financial aid community.

*** *** *** ***

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for commenting on a MASFAA Moments blog post! Comments are moderated, but your comment should appear shortly.